Police are looking into a single-car collision in east Charlotte that took the life of a 14-year-old and left four other injured, according to the City Metro. It happened shortly after 2:30 p.m. alone Camp Stewart Road.
Police report that the 18-year-old driver was taking a curve on that road when he lost control of his SUV, over corrected and flipped a number of times. The driver and the front-seat passenger were both ejected from the vehicle. Neither of them were reportedly wearing a seat belt. The passenger was pronounced dead later at Carolinas Medical Center-University. The driver was reportedly seriously injured. The three passengers in the back of the SUV all suffered minor injuries. The driver has been charged with reckless driving and misdemeanor death by motor vehicle.
Our Charlotte car accident lawyers note there were more than 185 people killed in crashes involving teen drivers in North Carolina in 2011. Teen drivers are some of our most vulnerable drivers out there. They have higher accident rates than any other driver and these accidents continue to be the leading cause of death for teens nationwide. Thankfully, North Carolina’s three-stage licensing process allows teens to gradually gain exposure to complex driving situations, easing them into driving over an extended period of time. The limited learner’s permit and limited provisional license are key steps. But this system is only effective if parents jump in to help enforcement and the education process.
Level One Limited Learner Permit:
-Drivers must be at least 15-years-old, but no older than 18-years-old.
-Drivers are required to complete a driver education course that has been officially approved.
-Drivers are required to show proof of a Driving Eligibility Certificate (that has been issued by the public school system), a high school diploma or equivalent.
-Drivers must pass a vision, signs and written test.
-Under this permit, drivers must make sure that all passengers are properly belted. No one is allowed in the front seat except the supervising driver. During their first six months of this stage, they can only drive from 5:00am to 9:00pm and with a supervising driver. Six months from when they get their Level One license, driving during any time of the day with a supervising driver is permitted.
Level Two Limited Learner Permit:
-Driver must be at least 16-years-old.
-Driver must have had a Level One permit for at least 12 months.
-Drivers are not allowed to have any moving violations in previous stage within the last 6 months.
-Under this stage, drivers must also make sure (in addition to previous stage requirements) that they only drive from 5:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. or any time when they drive directly to or from their place of employment.
-When they are driving without a supervising driver, they are not permitted to have anyone under the age of 21 in the vehicle with them. Immediate family does not pertain to this rule.
Level Three Full Provisional License:
-Driver must have had their Level Two Permit for at least 6 months with no moving violations within the last 6 months.
-Driver must be at least 18-years-old.
-All passengers are required to wear a seat belt.
If you or someone you love has been injured, contact the Carolina injury lawyers at the Lee Law Offices today by calling 800-887-1965.
More Blog Entries:
Affluent Teen Who Caused Fatal Car Accident Sued by Families, North Carolina Car Accident Lawyers Blog, December 26, 2013
North Carolina Traffic Safety: Teen Fatalities and Seat Belt Usage, North Carolina Car Accident Lawyers Blog, November 11, 2013