In a recent car accident, a teenage passenger was killed. In the accident, a second young passenger was take to the hospital. According to News13, the accident happened on Highway 501 N. in Marion.
According to accident reports, the driver ran his vehicle off the road and jumped over a guardrail. The car came to rest in a canal.
Our Marion car accident lawyers understand the risks that our teens face out there, especially when there a multiple passengers in the vehicle. As a matter of fact, car accidents are the leading cause of death for teenagers in South Carolina. There were more than 120 people killed in car accidents involving teen drivers in our state in 2010. Over the last 5 years, these teen driver accidents have claimed the lives of close to 800 people. Across the nation, there have been close to 90,000 people killed in accidents involving teen drivers, according to SafeRoads4Teens.com.
Under the rules of the South Carolina Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) program, teenage drivers are not allowed to have more than 2 passengers under the age of 21 with them in the vehicle at any time unless they’re driving to or from school. Unfortunately, those are some of the most lenient laws in the country. With each passenger, your teen driver’s risk for an accident increases significantly.
In addition to the passenger restrictions, it’s important that you’re familiar with the other restrictions of the state’s GDL program:
-Drivers can get their learner’s permit at the age of 15.
-At 15 years and 6 months, a driver can get their intermediate license.
-At 16-years-old, a driver can get a full license.
-There is a mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage.
-During the learner’s permit stage, parents are required to ride along with their teen drivers for at least 40 hours. This is to provide them with plenty of supervised driving to help to develop those safe driving habits. At least 10 of those hours must be completed at night.
-Before obtaining an unrestricted driver’s license, drivers are prohibited from driving between 6:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. (standard time) or 8:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. (daylight savings time).
-Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone in the driver’s seat. They’re also prohibited from text messaging while driving, too.
As we head through this time of the year, teens will be spending a lot more time behind the wheel. They’ve got prom, graduation and summer break. During this time, we typically see a significant increase in the number of teen driver accidents. Make sure you’re doing your part to help to reduce these risks by continuing an active presence in your young driver’s life. Make sure they’re getting plenty of supervised driving time and that they’re following all of the rules.
If you or your teen driver has been injured in a car accident, contact the Lee Law Offices today by calling 800-887-1965.
More Blog Entries:
NC Traffic Safety: Enrolling Students in a Safe Driving Future, North Carolina Car Accident Lawyers Blog, April 13, 2013
NCDOT Targets Zombies in New Distracted Driving Video, North Carolina Car Accident Lawyers Blog, April 11, 2013