When you buy insurance, you make the purchase in order to protect yourself from financial disaster. In some cases, you get to choose how much insurance you want to buy. In other instances, the law dictates the minimum coverage requirements.
When it comes to car insurance, lawmakers in South Carolina want to ensure that you have sufficient protections in case you get into a crash. In 2006, lawmakers upped the mandatory minimums on auto insurance coverage, boosting the required liability protection that all drivers must have. Our Greenville South Carolina car accident lawyers know that lawmakers are now considering another increase in the minimum auto insurance requirements within the state.
Upping Uninsured Motorist Coverage
When lawmakers changed the obligations of drivers in 2006, The State reports that they intended the higher insurance minimums to apply across the board. Unfortunately, while the law boosted liability coverage, it failed to increase the mandatory minimum uninsured motorist coverage.
Uninsured motorist coverage serves a very different purpose than liability coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage is intended to make sure you have your medical bills and costs paid if you get into a car accident with another driver who is at fault but who cannot pay. Liability coverage, on the other hand, is intended to make sure you can pay if you get into a crash and hurt someone else.
Liability coverage, of which you now must have a minimum of $25,000 in coverage, doesn’t pay for your damages if you are in a crash that you cause. Instead, your victims are compensated for their injuries and you are left to turn to your pocket or to turn to your own insurance company to pay whatever bills they will, based on the coverage you have.
Uninsured motorist coverage, on the other hand, is a form of protection for you. If you get into an accident with a driver who is at fault but who has no insurance or money to pay a claim, uninsured motorist coverage pays out so your bills can be met. If you get into an accident with a hit-and-run driver and the driver isn’t found, then again you’d be out of luck without uninsured motorist coverage.
Uninsured motorist coverage means your insurer stands in for an at-fault driver who should be paying but isn’t. You’ll need to have enough of this coverage so your bills and costs are actually paid. The law that aims to increase the mandatory minimum uninsured motorist coverage will help to ensure you have enough coming in from the insurer.
Under the current laws, you are required to have only $10,000 in coverage. If the new legislation passes, you will need to have no less than $25,000 in uninsured motorist protection. You can choose to buy more if you wish to do so, but you cannot buy any less. This higher limit ensures that even in more serious accidents, you will be able to have your bills paid.
If you have been injured in a car accident, contact the Carolina injury lawyers at the Lee Law Offices today by calling 800-887-1965.