Last August, we talked about the Decal Law on our North Carolina Personal Injury Lawyers Blog. This was the law that was passed in New Jersey in which newly-licensed drivers were required to put a red, reflective sticker on their license plate. It was all in an effort to help to point out these drivers to officers more easily and to get the young drivers to be more aware of their habits behind the wheel. Well, its first year is complete and the results are in.
According to NJ.com, the stickers help to keep more than 1,500 young drivers out of car accidents. The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia reports that this program was used to measure the effects of Kyleigh’s Law. Under this law, drivers between the ages of 16 and 20 who had either a driver’s permit or an intermediate driver’s license were required to put decals on their license plate. The American Journal of Preventive Medicine, who headed this study, reports that the number of Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) -related traffic citations for intermediate drivers rose by close to 15 percent. On the other hand, the number of police-reported accidents among those drivers dropped by close to 10 percent.
Our Greensboro car accident lawyers understand that the number of teens’ lives saved during this time was enough to fill a large high school. While the test returned some favorable results, we might as well start expecting this program to spread like wildfire throughout the nation.
“People should recognize this is a tool to help enforce the provisions of the graduated driver’s license so that we reduce the risk to teens,” said Pam Fischer, former director of the state division of highway traffic safety.
Still, there are some who are against this law. Many say that it’s violates these young drivers’ law and says that the red sticker makes them a target for predators. Governor Chris Christie is one of those who oppose. Regardless of who agree and who disagreed, the state went on with the law and these teens drove around with a red sticker on their license plate. While the number of citations went up, the number of accidents went down.
Regardless of a sticker, we need to keep an eye on our young drivers. Car accidents continue to be the number one cause of death for this young age group nationwide. Parents are asked to keep safe driving habits as an ongoing conversation in the home. Make sure they’re aware of the state’s driving laws, the federal driving laws and the laws of their Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) program. Awareness and educations is one of the keys in preventing car accidents for these young drivers. Set safe examples when driving with your teen and review the state’s teen driving laws with them to not only keep them from a costly citation but to help to keep them out of a potentially fatal car accident.
If you or a loved one has been injured or killed in an accident, contact the Lee Law Offices today for a free and confidential appointment to discuss your rights. Call 800-887-1965.
More Blog Entries:
North Carolina Parents: The Most Important Teen Driving Instructors, North Carolina Car Accident Lawyers Blog, October 3, 2012
Distractions & Pedestrians Accidents in the Carolinas, North Carolina Car Accident Lawyers Blog, October 1, 2012